Finding an audience

February 22, 2008

I am having fun learning about Ning and have got my network (The HR Connection) up and running. I am finding this project a lot more difficult because I do not have a prescribed audience like a classroom. I have a few members, however, nobody is contributing (which is sort of the point of the site) except for me. How do I encourage others to join and contribute to this network?

See my post about the methods I have already tried to attract people to join.

Thanks for any help you have to offer 🙂

7 Responses to “Finding an audience”

  1. Pat Says:

    Maybe you could search for blogs by HR people or when you go to company websites, let the HR people know about your site. Just a couple of suggestions.

  2. Dean Miezianko Says:

    Connie, I was checking out your site and I noticed a former colleague of mine, Michelle, is a member. Has she joined the ranks of HR and left education?

    Okay, that was my curiousity. My impressions of your site were great. It had great visual appeal when I logged on and very easy to navigate. Both the hooks that you need. As far as finding more people to become members I agree with Pat that you should seek out the HR community. Maybe touch base with the HR department at the U of R?

  3. roadrunner Says:

    Hi Connie.
    Have you connected with HR Associations? I’m thinking of Saskatchewan Association of Human Resource Professionals for example (or other provincial orgs) or Canadian Council of Human Resources Associations nationally. Each assocation will have a website where perhaps you can post your info.
    Cindy

  4. ccossar Says:

    Thank you all for the great advice. I will try out some of these avenues!!

    Dean, Michelle is actually the Arts Ed consultant for Regina Catholic School Board, but is a friend of mine and wanted to check out the site since she is dealing with so many new people this year. I hope the site will offer interesting and useful information for a variety of people, not just those in the HR field 🙂

  5. Dave Bircher Says:

    Did you try a post on Twitter. Maybe you could get some links to people there?

  6. Jen Says:

    1. That’s a great start for membership!
    2. Replace the creepy shadow icons. People don’t like those.
    3. Move the groups to the bottom until you have more members.
    4. Email a newsletter to the group every few weeks highlighting new content and encouraging them to invite friends.
    5. Recruit someone to guest blog.
    6. Start a bunch of discussion topics on current event issues people are interested in discussing.
    7. Add RSS feeds to the journals and web sites members are interested in.
    8. Customize your theme.
    9. Make sure you have added every possible related key word you can think of to the network profile so people who search ning can find it.
    10. Join the Ning Network Creators network and start responding to posts. People will then follow you over.

    Ask me anything!

  7. ccossar Says:

    Thanks so much Jen! I will be busy on the site today adding and changing it up 🙂


Leave a Reply

